One thing I haven’t covered as much as I’d like (perhaps because I’ve spent the better part of the past 3 years pregnant and/or breastfeeding!)... is the topic of vegan adult beverages!
Today I wanted to introduce yall to FitVine Wine, which is vegan, gluten-free, and much cleaner than typical wines.
** Before we go any further, you may be thinking—WAIT. SOME WINES AREN’T VEGAN? Correct. Wines start out hazy with a bunch of little particles in it (proteins, tannins, and more)-- but the goal is to then make the wine appear clear and bright (and therefore more appealing to drink). So, the wine needs to be clarified via a process called “fining” which traditionally has involved “fining agents” such as casein (milk protein), albumin (egg whites), gelatin (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder). However, luckily, today many wines are clarified using vegan-friendly fining agents and methods. You can always check Barnivore.com to check and see if a wine is vegan or not!
Which brings me to FitVine, my vegan wine of choice! FitVine is triple-filtered using a cutting edge cross- flow filtration involving no animal products. In addition to having a full, flavorful taste, these wines have less sugar than most other wines do, fewer sulfites, fewer calories, and no flavor additives. Specifically, these wines average less than 1 gram of sugar per liter! Basically- it is just a much, much “cleaner” wine all the way around—which, for me, means less headache the next day!
There are 12 wines available—reds, and whites, and sparklings, oh my! I’m a prosecco girl, so I was so excited to get a few bottles of that sent to me for Matt’s and my date nights. If I were a true, sophisticated wine expert, I would say that the prosecco has notes of green apple and blood orange. But
I’m not, so I’ll just say “it tasted super good!”
FitVine is available at Publix, Walmart, and Whole Foods. Click here to find a FitVine retailer near you! And let me know if you give it a whirl.